CESTA


DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURAL AND LIFE SCIENCES


EXTENSION


SUMMER CAMPS


 

Faculty & Staff


Cadance Lowell, Ph.D
Chair, Professor of Agriculture
clowell@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Horticulture, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, USA
Research Interests: Weed control, sustainable farming practices, agriculture technology


Lubna F. Abu-Niaaj, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
labu-niaaj@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Biology, Indiana State University, Indiana, USA
Research Interests: Tissue regeneration, muscle physiology, stem cells, DNA replication


Anthony Arment, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
aarment@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Biology, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio, USA
Research Interests: Pollutants, microbial degradation, symbiotic relationships, microbial communities


Kathleen Carter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Exercise Science
kcarter2@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Kinesiology, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, USA
Research Interests: Health and intellectual disabilities, health of special populations


Ibrahim Katampe, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
ikatampe@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Open University, Milton Keynes, England
Research Interests: Natural products, plant-based products, entrepreneurship


Sharath Krishna, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
skrishna@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Biology, Mangalore University, India
Research Interests: Snake ecology, venom proteomics, applications of venom


Daqing Gao, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
dgao@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Chemistry, Boston College, Massachusetts, USA
Research Interests: Computational studies of molecular interactions, STEM education


Jeremy Holtgrave, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics
jholtgrave@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Physics, Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Dayton, Ohio, USA
Research Interests: Atomic and molecular Physics


Mohammadreza Hadizadeh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
mhadizadeh@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics, University of Tehran, Iran
Research Interests: Quantum mechanics of few-body systems, computational physics


Leanne Petry, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
lpetry@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Materials Engineering, University of Dayton, Ohio, USA
Research Interests: Analytical/material characterization, material corrosion, STEM education


Brandy Phipps, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
bphipps@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences (formerly Veterinary Medical Sciences) VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine/Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Research Interests: Biomolecules, nutrition, wellness, underserved populations


Suzanne Seleem, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
sseleem@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Chemistry, University of London, England
Research Interests: Drug inhibition reactions, corrosion prevention, archaeometry


Susan Speight, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
sspeight@centralstate.edu

Ph.D. Animal Science, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Research Interests: Animal nutrition, animal reproductive physiology


Staff:

Charlene Edwards: Administrative Coordinator

Kandice Green: Chemical Technician II

Alverta Rea: Laboratory and Animal Care Technician