(Virtual) Charter Day Convocation

134 Years of Academic Excellence

Charter Day celebrates the 1887 establishment of the Combined Normal and Industrial Department at Wilberforce University, which later became Central State University.

The University will celebrate, virtually, 134 years of Academic Excellence on March 2, 2021, at 10 a.m. Cheryl A. Lavender, '90 will deliver the keynote address.

FACEBOOK  |  CentralState87

YOUTUBE  | CentralState87

Keynote Speaker Cheryl Lavendar '90

Keynote Speaker

Cheryl Lavender '90
Procter & Gamble North America Hair Care Supply Chain Director

Cheryl A. Lavender serves as Procter & Gamble North America Hair Care Supply Chain Director. She currently resides in Cincinnati, Ohio, and has been employed by the Procter & Gamble Company for 30 years. She is a proud graduate of Central State University’s Ebony Class of 1990, where she obtained her BS degree in Accounting. 
[Read more]


2021 Alumni Achievement Hall of Fame Honorees

Gary Lawson

Gary L. Lawson ‘73 click for audio

Gary L. Lawson was born in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and later moved to West Des Moines, Iowa. While living in Pennsylvania and following graduation from high school, he attended Central State University and earned a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, majoring in management and marketing.

[Read more]


Larry Kelly '83

Larry Kelly ‘83  click for audio

Larry Kelly was born and raised in Chicago, Illinois, attended the Simeon Career Academy (vocational high school) class of 1978. He turned down several other athletic scholarships to attend Central State University. His high school coach, Alvin Scott, a 1971 CSU graduate, encouraged him. A 1983 political science graduate, he focused on preparing for his career after college by working in the Cooperative Education Program and routinely interviewing for jobs through the Career Placement office. 
[Read more]


Sandra Hill 87

Sandra Jaribu Hill ‘87 click for audio

Sandra Jaribu Hill is the founder and executive director of the Mississippi Workers’ Center for Human Rights (the Center).  She is a human rights attorney and a veteran community organizer.  Ms. Hill is an international human rights spokesperson and a frequent writer and commentator on human rights themes.
[Read more]


Christopher Saunders

Christopher Saunders ‘90 click for audio

Christopher Saunders is a native of Brooklyn, NY, and a longtime resident of Dayton, Ohio. Mr. Saunders is a 1990 graduate of Central State University and majored in finance.  

[Read more]


Michael Williams

Michael "Blue" Williams  click for audio

Michael “Blue” Williams is the principal of Family Tree Entertainment – a full-service management company that has represented an illustrious roster of A-list talent in music, film sports, and television for over 20 years. 
[Read more]



Central State University Charter Day

Hall of Fame

Gladys Gunn ’59
David R. Smith, Esq. ‘69
Charlia D Allen, '78
Marya Rutherford-Long ‘78
Dr. Eric D. High, M.D. ‘91
Bryan "Scottie" Irving ‘91

Reginald Elwood Howard Butts ’53 (p)
Dr. Robert L. Bowles, Jr. ‘61
Gary A. Dowell ‘74
Gillis L. Bowden ‘77
Peter C. Gibbs ‘86
Natalia S. Harris ‘97

Gonzalo J. Rodriguez, Sr. ’52 (p)
David A. Lister ’62 (p)
William H. Wiley ’63
Brad M. Beasley ’73
Deborah Perkins ’73
Marcella A. Sampson ’74
Lisa M. Peterson ’87

Harold L. Flowers ’59
Dr. James E. Gordon, ’73
Alvin R. Scott, Sr. (p) ’69
Dr. Thomas E. Simpson, ’65
Dr. Hazel Symonette ’68
Timothy L. Tramble, Sr. ’93

Shendorah Fisher, ’00 & ’03
Derrick Lee Foward ’90
James N. Joyner ’62
Rev. Dr. William Carver Lennard ’63
Dennis J. McNeal, ’66
Rosie A. Turner ’81

Marsha J. Bayless ’73
Richard R. Boykin ’90
John Benjamin Brown ’62
Edwin R. Clay ’69
Sandi Lynn ’68
Dr. Delors Edgar Magee, Jr. ’59
Willie A. Terrell, Jr. ’73
Ethel M. Washington ’69
Roland Winburn ’71

Caleb Brown, Jr. ’70
Terri Cope-Walton ’96
Tyrone E. Dickerson ’65
Dr. David “Fred” McBagonluri ’96
Jeffery J. Mims, Jr. ’73
Dr. Dennis W. Weatherby ’82
Dennis L. Wells ’75

Darryl T. Owens ’59
Kenneth S. Hudson ’61
Mildred C. Joyner ’71
Shirley L. Mays ’76

Charles E. Delane ’60
Curtis Owens ’62

Barbara Saunders ’60
Enrique Riggs ’68
Leon W. Tucker ’72

Yvette Coursey ’63
W. Marvin Dulaney ’72
Joseph H. Hill ’62
Charles Whitehead ’61


Nancy Travis Bolden ’48
The Honorable Nolan B. Dawkins ’69
Fred J. Grigsby, Jr. ’69
Betty Kennedy Shepherd ’71

Doris Nicholson ’51
Felton Page ’69
Samuel Williams ’49 (p)

Joyce Beatty ’72
Edward T. Dixon ’54
Carolyn Farrow-Garland ’70

Richard Clay Dixon ’63
Omarosa O. Manigault ’96
Michael L. Nelson, Sr. ’72
Frances “Kay” Welch ’52

Dolores R. Alston ’55
William J. Waterman ’52 (p)

Gary Allen ’67
John W. Garland ’71
Kwame James C. McDonald ’54

Robert L. Hylton ’54
Louis G. Long ’68

Mildred Jones Henderson ’67
Harry G. Johns ’47
Edith Olivia Washington Johnson ’59 (p)
Thomas E. Kelley, Sr. ’42

Curtis Symonds ’78
Alfonso Wilson ’48

Ronald Eugene Cosey ’71
James A. Elam ’54
Janette Hoston Harris ’62
Donis Eugene Toller, Sr. ’60

Dixie J. Allen ’78
Albert L. Harrington ’58
John T. Jackson ’69
Anthony “Tony” Williams ’54
Joey D. Williams ’88

Gordon L. Berry ’55
Bernida L. Thompson ’68

Otha N. Brown, Jr. ’52
Bryant Crawford, Jr. ’50 (p)
M. Delmar Edwards ’48
Richard H. Shepherd, Jr. ’71
Audrey L. Norman-Turner ’68
Gloria Taylor Towers ’54

E. Eugene Brown ’72
Theresa A. Check ’74
Alex B. DarJean ’75

MacArthur DeShazer, Sr. ’71
Earl H. Duval, Jr. ’69
Clifford E. Gates, Sr. ’48
Lawrence B. Mixon, Sr. ’71
William Ross, Jr. ’48 (p)
James H. Sangster ’59
Lawrence J. Turner ’56

Calvin E. Davis ’50
Jacqueline G. Davis ’77
Jane Frazier Dixon ’57
James Curtis Joyner ’71
Aaron Lowery ’58
Blanche I. Mayo ’76

Michael O. Ajisafe ’64
David G. Carter ’65
Thomas J. Craft, Sr. ’48
George C. Dumas ’59
Terrence L. Glass ’68
Judy L. Greene McGill ’72
Charles H. Harrell ’69
Maurice L. Reed ’50
James C. Renick ’70

Fillmore Freeman ’57
Dwight L. Johnson ’66
Sylvester G. Lee ’57 (p)
Theodore D. Toles ’73
Elliott A. Treadwell ’69
Carolyn Watts-Allen ’69

Donald K. Anthony ’56
William A. Dupree ’56
James E. Farmer ’67
Deborah K. Brown Gaines ’68
Joseph E. Johnson ’57
Melvin A. Johnson, Jr. ’50
Fredric H. Leigh ’63
Betty K. Pinkney ’56
Chester C. Pryor, II ’51
Joshua I. Smith ’63
James A. Wright ’60

Vernon N. Ford ’70
Raymond V. Haysbert, Sr. ’47
Bettye Torrey Oldham ’56

Carneice Brown-White ’50
H. Douglas Covington ’57
Jay Crosby ’50
Jerry Cummings ’63
Dennis Dowdell, Jr. ’67
Delbert L. Flowers ’56
Ronald L. Garnett ’67
Lathardus Goggins ’54
Ronald E. Goldsberry ’64
Charles A. Green ’61
Edward D. Irons ’48
William L. Mallory ’55
June M. Moorehead Marable ’48
Charles Moody, Jr. ’54
Walter G. Sellers, Sr. ’51
Fred Sheffey ’50
Bernice Sumlin ’48
O’Neil D. Swanson ’53
Arthur E. Thomas ’62












(p) Inducted Posthumously