Transfer Credit Policy

Central State University accepts transfer credit from colleges and universities accredited by regional accrediting associations. The five regional accrediting associations are: Middle States, New England, North Central, Southern, and Western Association of Colleges and Schools. Courses that are being considered as transferable credit, must be college level courses and non-developmental. The Office of the Registrar will determine the credits that are accepted into the institution. Under state law, the university is required to accept grades “D” or better as transfer credit from state assisted colleges and universities in Ohio. For institutions that are out-of-state, the final grade must be a “C” or better. Grades of “S”, “pass” and “credit” are considered for transfer credit. The Department Chair of the intended major will determine whether credits accepted by the institution will be used to satisfy program requirements for graduation.

Students who have already received a baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution and wish to pursue a second baccalaureate degree will automatically receive 90 semester credit hours. They will be ranked as seniors and will need to complete a minimum of 30 semester credit hours at Central State University to earn a second baccalaureate degree. An advisor will determine degree and whether the student will need to take more than 30 credits to complete the second degree.